1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What undercoat/primer are people using?

Discussion in 'Painting and Converting' started by TheCrux, May 28, 2018.

?

What spray primers are people using.

1. Black

5 vote(s)
    35.7%
  2. White

3 vote(s)
    21.4%
  3. Grey

4 vote(s)
    28.6%
  4. Not limited to one colour, depends on the model

5 vote(s)
    35.7%
  5. Other

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. TheCrux
    Saurus

TheCrux Member

I made a bit of an error move recently as I'm new to the hobby/game. A friend of mine who has well painted models recommended I get a black primer and spray all my models. Which I have done, about 1000pts of them and begun to paint them all.

However, every tutorial I'm seeing online for Seraphon tends to use white or grey spray primer. I finished a warrior model, and I'm happy with the results, but I can't help think the colours would pop more with a white primer. Have I left it too late to re-spray all my models in white? or at least test it out on one warrior model then compare the results?

What are all you guys using?

Crowsfoot likes this.
  2. Aginor
    Slann

Aginor Fifth Spawning Staff Member

Since I am painting my Saurus and Skinks blue (like on the box art) I use Army Painter blue spray primer for those.
    That basically means I don't have to basecoat their skin (which is most of their bodies!), I just shade and highlight.
    Super fast.

For Skeletons I use bone color spray primer, for the same reason as above.

For everything else I use white primer, which helps immensely for bright colors and doesn't impact dark colors too much. A bit though.

If you just want to use one primer I'd suggest white or light grey. Making something darker (just slap black or dark grey on the parts you want to use darker colors on) is much easier than overpainting lighter colors over black.